Hermes Festival des Métiers: The H Bearn Wallet

I don’t know about you, but every time I find out how my bag or my wallet is made, I end up loving it so much more. Today, I saw how the Hermes bearn wallet was constructed. Preetty amazed!
It takes anywhere between 4- 5 hours to complete a Bearn wallet. And in those 4-5 hours, it takes approximately 1- 1.5 hours just to stitch the wallet together!

The legendary Hermes saddlestitch technique. The artisan uses a wooden clamp to hold the leather together

Note how she was holding THREE needles! How can anyone manage that without messing up the thread?!  SKILL!

She pulls the threads. No entangled thread and knots. Very clean!

The thread used

Some of the tools she used include these. They add that spacing outline for the leather.

These are electric tools that emit heat– one was used for the adhesive/ gumming of the leather.

More Hermes in a bit 🙂

x
TheBagHag

Leave a comment